Scholarship Opportunities

For Geomatics Engineering undergraduate students:

Florida West Coast Land Surveyors Association scholarship

by Tampa Bay Surveying and Mapping Scholarship Fund

This scholarship fund was started in 1989 with the purpose of providing scholarships to students pursuing a degree in surveying and mapping (Geomatics). The Fund began as The Hillsborough Land Survey Scholarship Fund and later changed its name to the current Tampa Bay Surveying and Mapping Scholarship Fund (the Fund) as being more representative of the professional and the geographic area it wished to serve.

The Fund will receive applications from and may grant scholarships to students enrolled or about to enroll in a course of study leading to a 4-year degree in Geomatics.

The Fund was set up primarily for students who reside in the Tampa Bay area but students living elsewhere will be considered if funds are available. Scholarships are paid after a student has completed an approved course with a grade of “C” or better.

Applications are available by request from the corporate address above or via link from this website. Completed applications should be e-mailed or mailed to Ken Nelson, Current Chairman.

The Southeast Chapter of The Hydrographic Society of America will be awarding four (4) $1,000 scholarships this year to students enrolled full-time (12 credits/semester), in a two year, four year or a graduate program and demonstrates a keen interest in pursuing a career hydrographic surveying or related fields or a High school senior who has applied and accepted in a fulltime U.S. college or university located in Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama or Florida with accreditation recognized by the U. S. Department of Education, and who also demonstrates a keen interest in pursuing a career in hydrographic surveying or related fields.

Applicants must be a citizen or permanent resident of the U.S.

The scholarship application form is attached (THSOA Southeast Chapter 2015 Scholarship Application). Please contact Southeast Chapter Chairman, Mike Nitska (] ), if you have any questions or need additional information.

Florida Surveying and Mapping Society

 If qualified and interested, please get application at:

The Palm Beach Chapter awards the Carl Miller Memorial Scholarship each semester. We as the local board have budgeted $1000 to be awarded to the best applicant. The deadline for this fall scholarship is October 1, 2015.

The state level of FSMS awards the FSMS Scholarship Fund Inc. each semester. FSMS determines the amount to be awarded once applications are received and reviewed. The deadline for this fall scholarship is September 30, 2015.

NSPS also awards scholarships:

The College of Engineering & Computer Science is now accepting applications for the following fall 2015 undergraduate scholarships. The deadline to apply is Thursday, October 1st and the application can be found at

Tyco International Innovation Leadership Endowed Scholarship $1,000
Open to an undergraduate engineering or computer science student, who is a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, participating in the Innovation Leadership Honors Program with a minimum GPA of 3.0. Preference will be given to students who are designated as being in an underrepresented segment of the U.S. population in the field of engineering.

Eric Alexander Engineering and Computer Science Scholarship (2) $1000
Awards are available to undergraduate engineering or computer science students who have a minimum 3.0 GPA and who have completed more than 30 credit hours. Preference will be given to students from the Treasure Coast area (Martin and St. Lucie Counties). This scholarship may be renewed for up to four consecutive years if 3.0 GPA is maintained. Pre-engineering students are not eligible for this award.
Keith and Schnars, P.A. Scholarship Endowment $900

Award available to a junior or senior Civil or Geomatics engineering student with a minimum 2.5 GPA who has potential to be a leader in Civil or Geomatics engineering. Recipient must be a U.S. citizen or a local South Florida resident.

Award list of the past recipients

2015- Paige Rogolino, Carl Miller Memorial Scholarship from FSMS Palm Beach Chapter

2015- Christina Sheehan, Walter J. Reinhardt Scholarship from FSMS Crown Chapter

2015- Augustus Slaven,  Travel Grant from Nobles Consulting

2014- Paul Keays, Carl Miller Memorial Scholarship from FSMS Palm Beach Chapter